top of page

Area winter athletes named to all-conference teams

Several Montgomery County athletes earned first-team Sagamore Conference honors this winter.

Crawfordsville seniors Jesse Hall and Ty Lynas ranked third and fourth respectively in Sagamore Conference scoring to earn first-team honors. Hall averaged 18.9 points per game and Lynas 18.4 points per game.

Southmont’s Avery Saunders, who averaged 14.3 points per game as a junior, also made first-team all-conference.

The trio joined Danville’s Kobe Ward, Tyler Dostin, and Brady Ruggles, Frankfort’s Riley Goodnight, Lebanon’s Hunter Crew, Tri-West’s Alex Covey, and Western Boone’s Jonathan McAtee.

Crawfordsville’s Ian Hensley and Alex Kellerman, Southmont’s Carson Chadd and Austin Bowman, and North Montgomery’s Jakob Kirsch and Logan Kelly made second-team.

In girls’ basketball, Southmont senior Sidney Veatch made first-team for a second-straight season after averaging 13.8 points per game, and 7.9 rebounds per game, which were both ranked in the top-five for the league.

North Montgomery’s Madi Welch was named first-team after averaging 9.4 points per game for the Chargers.

The duo joined Danville’s Maddie Patterson and Isabelle Wooten, Lebanon’s Lyla Barr and Alexis Wines, and Tri-West’s Kenna Kirby, Grace Sandlin, Adrie Thompson, and Isabelle Saylor.

Crawfordsville’s Olivia Reed and Shea Williamson, North Montgomery’s Katie Rice and Grace McClaskey, and Southmont’s Addison Charles and Natalie Manion each made second-team.

In girls’ swimming, Crawfordsville’s Alyx Bannon (50 freestlye), North Montgomery’s Sidney Campbell (100 freestyle), Southmont’s Megan Scheidler (500 freestyle) all earned first-team all-conference honors along with North Montgomery’s 400 freestyle relay team (Maggie Michael, Annabel Anderson, Kelsey Anderson, Campbell).

In boys’ swimming, Crawfordsville’s Hunter Conrad (200 IM), Jack Pendleton (50 freestyle), Whitman Horton (100 butterfly and 100 backstroke), and Marshall Horton (100 freestyle and 100 breaststroke) all earned first-team all-conference honors along with the 200 medley relay team (W. Horton, M. Horton, Conrad, and Joseph Sanchez), the 200 freestyle relay team (M. Horton, Conrad, Pendleton and Ben Brown), and the 400 freestyle relay team (Sanchez, Brown, W. Horton, and Pendleton).

In wrestling, Southmont freshman Brier Riggle (106), Maddox Cade (113), Marlin Williams (120), and Wyatt Woodall (195) all earned first-team all-conference honors with SAC titles. They were joined by junior Collin Martin, who won his second-straight conference title. North Montgomery’s James McClerkin earned first-team honors, winning the title at 145.

Mustangs earn All-WRC honors

A pair of Fountain Central basketball players were named first-team all-conference in the Wabash River Conference.

Senior Dakota Borman led the league in scoring for girls’ basketball with 17.7 points per game. Borman joined North Vermillion’s McKenzie Crowder and Ava Martin, Parke Heritage’s Lexi Jones, Hannah O’Brien, Grace Ramsay, Riverton Parke’s Macey Barnes and Bailey Duke, Seeger’s Aubry Cole, Macy Kerr, and Riley Shrader, and South Vermillion’s Abigail Lange on the first-team.

Fountain Central juniors Larissa Bowers and Jerzi Hershberger were each named to the honorable-mention team. In boys’ basketball, Fountain Central senior Carson Eberly was named to the first-team after averaging eight points per game, 2.8 rebounds and 3.5 assists per game.

Eberly joined Covington’s Alan Karrfalt and Logan Pinkerton, Parke Heritage’s Connor Davis, Riley Ferguson, Christian and Noble Johnson, Riverton Parke’s Pierson Barnes, Hayden Gilstrap, and Derron Hazzard, Seeger’s Owen Snedeker, and South Vermillion’s Anthony Garzolini.

Fountain Central freshman Will Harmon and sophomore Mason Larkin were each named to the honorable-mention team.

In swimming, Fountain Centrals Tyler Bowling (200 and 500 freestyle), Noah Fruits (200 IM and 100 butterfly), and Chase Witsman (50 and 100 freestyle) all earned first-team Wabash River Conference honors — along with the boys’ 200 freestyle relay team (Riley Nelson, Fruits, Witsman, and Eli Davis) and the 400 freestyle relay team of Nelson, Dylan Songer, Davis and Witsman.

Hall and Lynas earn all-state honor

Crawfordsville seniors Jesse Hall and Ty Lynas were each named to the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association All-State Honorable Mention team.

Lauy and Woodall earn academic all-state

Southmont senior wrestlers Dillan Lauy and Riley Woodall were named to the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association academic all-state teams.

North Montgomery junior Cailin Campbell and Southmont junior Gerald Hutson were named to the junior academic all-state team.

Southmont’s Evan Francis and Zayden Dunn and North Montgomery’s Catie Campbell were named honorable mention academic all-state.

Athletes earn academic all-state on the hardwood

Southmont seniors Steele Baumgardner, Austin Bowman, Cale Hess, and Cam King earned academic all-state honorable mention from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. As did Fountain Central’s Carson Eberly and Crawfordsville’s Nate Schroeter.

On the girls’ side, North Montgomery’s Nina Gable also earned academic all-state honorable mention.

bottom of page