top of page

1987 Crawfordsville SAC champions send good luck wishes to 2019 team

Members of Crawfordsville's 1987 Sagamore Conference basketball championship team gathered to watch the Athenians play Clinton Prairie on Tuesday night. Pictured is: Back Row L-R: Current Athenians' girls basketball coach Tony Bean, Kevin Gallagher Front Row L-R: John Jones, Mike Heinold, and Chris Arvin. On Tuesday, five of the seven seniors from the 1987 Crawfordsville basketball team that gave the Athenians their last Sagamore Conference championship gathered at Crawfordsville on Tuesday night to watch the Athenians play. Current Crawfordsville girls basketball coach Tony Bean, Kevin Gallagher, John Jones, Mike Heinold, and Chris Arvin all showed up at the game on Tuesday. Those five, along with their other senior teammates Chad Fiedler and Sam Lashley want to wish the Athenians best of luck as they travel to Danville on Friday in search of the programs first outright conference championship since 1973. "All seven of us have had a ton of communication back and forth this week around the memories stirred up by the performance and accomplishments of this year's team," Bean said. Good Luck Athenians!

bottom of page