top of page

North Montgomery

North Montgomery High School was formed in 1971 with the consolidation of four high schools: Coal Creek Central, Darlington, Linden and Waynetown. Coal Creek Central was created in 1954 with the consolidation of New Richmond and Wingate high schools.

The North Montgomery High School Chargers’ basketball program has enjoyed much success with the boys’ and girls’ teams. The boys’ team have won four Sagamore Conference titles (1990, 2006, 2007, and 2009) and 11 sectional titles (1974, 1975, 1977, 1980, 1883, 1984, 1999, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2009).

The girls’ team have accumulated six Sagamore Conference titles (1979, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1988 and 1989), and nine sectional titles (1976, 1980, 1981, 1995, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007).

Two coaches and 14 players from North Montgomery are in the Montgomery County Basketball Hall of Fame. The coaches are Terry Bartell, the coach of the girls team from 1997-2007 and Charles Kriston, the coach of the boys team from 1971-1980. Players from the girls teams at North Montgomery are Andrea Edwards (1972), Andra Harshbarger Hutson (1978), Sondi Eden (1989), Erin Rusk Bladyes (1995), Kara McCormick (1995), and Lindsay Rusk (1998). Players from the boys teams are: Hal Shelton (1974), Mark Milbern (1975), Brad Lighty (1984), Tom Young (1985), Kurt Schlicher (1987), B.J. Schlicher (1996), Jason McCormick (1997) and Brice Murphy (2004).

Andra Harshbarger Hutson (1978) was also selected as an “All-Star” for the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2003 Women’s Silver Anniversary team.

Boys All-Time Scoring List

Girls All-Time Scoring List

The North Montgomery Athletic Department has girls’ basketball statistics on file starting with the 1997-1998 season. Anyone who has statistics before the 97-98 season are encouraged to contact:

Matt Merica

North Montgomery Athletic Director


bottom of page